WebsiteGear Logo Log In
New User? Sign Up
About | Contact | FAQ
  Home News Technology Internet Technology Monday, March 27, 2017 
Add Press Release News | News Feeds Feeds | Email This News Email

The Friedenberg Online Journalism Award will recognize those who did the most innovative work online
Monday, March 20, 2017

WASHINGTON, March 20, 2017 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The most innovative and creative online journalism by those in the news business in 2016 will be recognized by the National Press Club with the Joan M. Friedenberg Online Journalism Award.

The winner will have done original reporting and have taken advantage of online technology, such as interactive databases, primary-source interviews, and accompanying charts and graphs, in order to provide a thorough and graphically attractive report. This is not a contest for stories that run online rather than in a print publication; this is to recognize the best journalism that uses online technology to provide a more compelling report than a print or broadcast story alone.

The award is among those in the Press Club's Journalism Contest. Deadline for entering the contest is April 1, so pick your entries and enter them soon. The prize for the winner is $750.

This award is named in memory of Joan M. Friedenberg, founding editor of the Online Newshour and wife of former Club President Jonathan D. Salant, and is funded by donations from Joan's friends and family. Both online-only reports and sites that accompany print or broadcast stories are eligible; in the latter case, entrants must show how they used online content to enhance the print and broadcast reports.

The Journalism Contest also includes awards for breaking news, news photo, feature photo, political reporting, regional reporting on Washington, international coverage, consumer reporting and newsletter journalism. It also includes awards for areas as topics like the news industry, aerospace and the airline industry, problems facing the elderly and humor writing.

The entries can be submitted online or by the more traditional method of mailing them in. The winner will be honored at a dinner at the National Press Club this summer. The entry fee is $50, but entries may be submitted for free by members of the National Press Club.

For more information, go to

The number for the Press Club's Awards Contest phone line is 202-662-8744. Please send any questions by e-mail to Will Lester at or Joann Booze at

To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:

SOURCE National Press Club

Email This News Email | Submit To Slashdot Slashdot | Submit To Digg | Submit To | News Feeds Feeds

Nav Warner Bros. Pictures and HTC Vive Announce Strategic Global Partnership for Upcoming Theatrical Release of Ready Player One | Mar 27, 2017
Nav Cognizant Opens European Customer Success Centre to Accelerate Client Digital Transformations with Salesforce Platform | Mar 27, 2017
Nav CUI Global Awarded $1.4M Contract for Additional IRIS-RTU Systems by National Grid | Mar 27, 2017
Nav Inmar's VP, Client Relations and Operations, Named Rock Star of the Supply Chain | Mar 27, 2017
Nav Frost & Sullivan Identifies the 2017 Global Blockchain Startup Map | Mar 27, 2017
Nav Most popular cell phones Fail Canadian safety standards - Investigation | Mar 27, 2017
Nav Raiffeisen Bank Becomes Agile and Innovative with Backbase's Omni-channel Banking Platform | Mar 27, 2017
Nav River Logic and Barkawi Partner to Deliver Operational Excellence with Prescriptive Analytics | Mar 27, 2017
Nav ViaSat Delivers First NSA-Certified Type 1 100 Gbps Ethernet Encryptor | Mar 27, 2017
Nav Baylin Technologies Announces Approval of Densification Antenna from Tier One Carrier | Mar 27, 2017

Submit News | View More News View More News